Preskoči na sadržaj Preskoči na podmeni Naslovna strana Aktuelnosti Mapa sajta Śednice skupštine Śednice radnih tijela Zakoni Kontakt Online streaming Ustav Crne Gore Akcioni plan Poslovnik Skupštine Plan zakonodavnog rada Mjesečni bilten Građani Međunarodna saradnja
Skupština Crne Gore


Parliamentary Positions

  • Chairperson - Constitutional Committee 
  • Member - Social Democratic Party of Montenegro








President of the Parliament of Montenegro

Mr Ranko Krivokapić, SDP

Born on 17 August 1961, in Kotor.

Bachelor of Law, passed the oral MA examination at the Faculty of Law in Belgrade – field of international relations. He paid study visits to the Congress of the United States of America and British Lloyds in London.  He is an alumni of the Atlantic Partnership Program “The Council's transatlantic young leaders program”, which gathers 30 high-ranking politicians from both sides of the Atlantic ocean.


President of the Parliament of Montenegro since 2003, in the 22nd, 23rd, 24th and 25th Convocation of the Parliament.

In the beginning of the 90's he was one of the founders of the Democratic Forum which was formed with the aim of establishing the multiparty system in Montenegro.

Elected MP in nine convocations. First time in 1989 in the Parliament of Montenegro; in the Parliament of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia from 1993 to 1997, and in the Parliament of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro from 2003 to 2006.   

Following the Referendum on the state legal status of Montenegro, he led the process of writing the Declaration of Independence of Montenegro and officially declared the independence on 3 June 2006. In October 2006, he was elected the President of the Constituent Assembly of the Republic of Montenegro and the President of the Constitutional Committee of the Constituent Assembly of the Republic of Montenegro, until the proclamation of Constitution of Montenegro in 2007.


He has been the Head of the Montenegrin delegation to the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly for ten years. He was a member of Montenegrin delegations to the Council of Europe as well as the Parliamentary Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

Founder of the regional initiative “Cetinje Parliamentary Forum” in 2004, which traditionally gathers parliamentarians from the Region, with the aim of sharing constructive experiences in different areas of political work.


His political engagement started in the late 80s. He was a member of the Presidency of the Reform Forces for Montenegro in 1990, headed by the last Prime Minister of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Mr Ante Marković. He was anti-war activist during the 90s and co-founder of the Democratic Forum.

President of the Social Democratic Party of Montenegro (SDP) since 2001.

Member of the Presidency of the Party of European Socialists – PES.

One of the founders of the Social Democratic Party (1990), which has been a full-fledged member of the Socialist International (SI) since 1996 and member of the Party of European Socialist since 2009.

Fluent in English.

Contact information

Address: Bulevar Svetog Petra Cetinjskog 10, Podgorica
Phone Number: + 382 20 242 182; + 382 20 244 759
Fax: + 382 20 242 192


Record of reports on income and property of a public official