Preskoči na sadržaj Preskoči na podmeni Naslovna strana Aktuelnosti Mapa sajta Śednice skupštine Śednice radnih tijela Zakoni Kontakt Online streaming Ustav Crne Gore Akcioni plan Poslovnik Skupštine Plan zakonodavnog rada Mjesečni bilten Građani Međunarodna saradnja
Skupština Crne Gore

Montenegro is an independent and sovereign state, with the republican form of government. Montenegro is a civil, democratic, ecological and the state of social justice, based on the rule of law. Bearer of sovereignty is the citizen with Montenegrin citizenship. Montenegro declared its independence on 3 June 2006 following succession from the state union with Serbia, becoming one of the youngest European countries. The Constitution was proclaimed on 22 October 2007. The official language in Montenegro is Montenegrin language, while Serbian, Bosnian, Albanian and Croatian are in official use; Cyrillic and Latin alphabet are equal.

Located in the south-western part of the Balkan Peninsula and with access to the Adriatic Sea, Montenegro is both Balkan and Mediterranean country. The capital city is Podgorica and the old royal capital is Cetinje. Montenegro borders Serbia to the east and northeast, Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina to the west and northwest, Kosovo to the east and Albania to the southeast. The Adriatic Sea to the southwest separates it from Italy. Land borders of Montenegro are 625 km long, while the coast is 293.5 km long. Montenegro is divided into twenty-one municipalities and two urban municipalities, subdivisions of Podgorica municipality: 


  • Andrijevica

  • Bar

  • Berane

  • Bijelo Polje

  • Budva

  • Cetinje

  • Danilovgrad

  • Herceg Novi

  • Kolašin

  • Kotor

  • Mojkovac

  • Nikšić Plav

  • Plužine

  • Pljevlja

  • Podgorica(Golubovci i Tuzi)

  • Rožaje

  • Šavnik

  • Tivat

  • Ulcinj

  • Žabljak


By its geographical position Montenegro belongs to the central Mediterranean, Southern Europe. Although it covers only 13,812 km2, Montenegro is a country of outstanding natural beauty and remarkable contrasts. Diversity of climate types, terrain configuration, natural resources, diversity of flora and fauna make Montenegro an extremely attractive country. Five national parks, one of which is protected by UNESCO as part of the World Heritage Site, protected objects of nature, diverse wildlife, one of the two virgin forests in Europe, the southernmost fjord in the world, the largest lake in the Balkans (Skadar Lake), the deepest river canyon in Europe and second one in the world (Tara) are only part of Montenegro’s unmatched beauty. In order to protect natural resources and preserve the identity of its unique territory, Montenegro adopted the Declaration on the Ecological State (20 September 1991), thus becoming the world’s first ecological state, the status Montenegro legally confirmed by the Constitution in 2007.

Although the country’s independence was restored in 2006, Montenegro is one of the oldest European countries. During centuries of its existence, Montenegro endured and remained celebrated for its heroic feats of fight for freedom and survival. Many civilizations including Illyrian, Roman, Slavic, Byzantine, Turkish, Christian and Islamic blended together here, leaving their trace in ​​Montenegro that became a cultural and historic crossroad. From the Latin province of Prevalis, to the medieval state Zeta, to modern Montenegro, the country changed with its name, and owing to all the civilizations that settled this land for varied periods of time, the country emerged as the mosaic of cultural heritage, to this day Montenegro’s most appreciated quality.





Coat of Arms:

Anthem: "Oj, svijetla majska zoro"

               Music notation



Old Royal Capital


Official language




Southeast Europe


42° 30' N, 19° 18' E


13.812 km2 (162. in the world)


293.5 km


625266 (2011. Census)

Population density




Calling Code


Internet TLD


National Parks

Durmitor, Biogradska Gora, Skadarsko Jezero, Lovcen, Prokletije

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Durmitor and old town Kotor


Agricultural Aria

5.165 km2 (37%)

Total arable area

1.899 km2 (13,8% out of total area)


1 ha per resident



Artificial lakes


Hydropower potential of rivers

Tara, Morača, Piva, Ćehotina, Zeta, Bojana i jedina plovna Rijeka Crnojevića

Mineral resources

bauxite, coal, minerlas