Preskoči na sadržaj Preskoči na podmeni Naslovna strana Aktuelnosti Mapa sajta Śednice skupštine Śednice radnih tijela Zakoni Kontakt Online streaming Ustav Crne Gore Akcioni plan Poslovnik Skupštine Plan zakonodavnog rada Mjesečni bilten Građani Međunarodna saradnja
Skupština Crne Gore

Regional Initiatives

In the framework of cooperation between parliaments of the region, which takes place through the mechanisms of regional initiatives, the role of the Parliament of Montenegro was recognized as constructive and comprehensive, and especially dedicated to further development and enhancement of capacities of regional initiatives, of which being the member. The initiatives in question are the Central European Initiative (CEI), Adriatic-Ionian Initiative (AII) and the Process of Co-operation in South East Europe (SEECP).

Regional cooperation is a key element of the integration process, especially the process of stabilization and association, and the sheer speed of the process of EU integration certainly depends on the mutual cooperation of Balkan countries and their willingness to belong to the united Europe.

Generally speaking, the Parliament of Montenegro has been characterized as an example of a legislative body that through participation in mechanisms of regional action maintained good relations with the countries of the region and promoted co-operation towards regional stability. Parliamentary commitment to regional cooperation has been manifested through active participation in the parliamentary assembly and operation of regional initiatives, and the successful chairmanship of Montenegro over these initiatives in 2010 and 2011.

The objective of starting the Initiative in 2000 was to improve development and strengthen security in the Adriatic-Ionian area, intensify cooperation among the countries in the region

and provide incentives for countries in transition towards the integration process and the European Union. The AII is realised through two forums: a forum for the exchange of political opinions and a forum for achieving multilateral cooperation in several areas (transport, marine, tourism, education, environment and cultural heritage, development of small and medium-sized enterprises struggle against all forms of organized crime, rural development).

The process of co-operation in South East Europe is a regional framework that was initiated in June in 1996. at a meeting of foreign ministers of South East Europe (SEE) in Sofia, with the aim of promoting and strengthening good-neighborly relations among the SEE countries and transform the region into a zone of peace, security, stability and cooperation. SEECP has 12 member states: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Greece, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia and Turkey.

Montenegro formally became member at the 11th SEECP Summit, held on 10 and 11 May 2007 in Zagreb. The most important document of the SEECP is the "Charter on Good Neighbourly Relations, Stability, Security and Cooperation in South East Europe".

CEI is the oldest regional initiative in the Central and Eastern Europe. It was founded in 1989. and today has 18 member states: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Czech Republic, Croatia, Italy, Hungary, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia and Ukraine.

Since its establishment the Central European Initiative goal has been to foster political and socio-economic development in the region aimed at avoiding new division lines in Europe. To this end, the CEI is oriented to assist in strengthening the capacities of countries remaining outside of the EU to consolidate their institutional and economic background and bring them closer to the EU.